Q & A Tyler Watson ’22

CLARK TINDER ‘20 | STAFF WRITER • Tyler Watson knows how to score. The 6’ 2” guard from Brownsburg Indiana scored 1,999 points at Tri-West High School. The Little Giant Basketball team is hoping that Watson can pick up right where he left off in high school and keep scoring and be a key member of the 2018-2019 basketball team.

WHAT MADE YOU DECIDE TO COME TO WABASH?

I would say the big thing to make me come to Wabash was the culture of this place. There is just a different vibe here than other campuses I visited. I also really like the coaches who sold me on the school and the basketball program.

WHAT HAS BEEN THE BIGGEST ADJUSTMENT YOU HAVE HAD TO MAKE FROM HIGH SCHOOL BASKETBALL TO COLLEGE?

I would say the biggest adjustment from high school basketball to col- lege basketball would be the speed of the game. The decisions have to be made a lot faster and you have to know what you’re going to do every time before you do it.

WHAT ARE YOUR EXPECTATIONS FOR YOURSELF THIS SEASON AND THE TEAM AS A WHOLE?

My expectations for myself this year is to help my team win some games and the overall goal for the team this year has to be to make the NCAA tournament and try to make some noise in the post season. We have the talent and leadership to do it so I like our chances.

IS THERE A CERTAIN PERSON YOU CONSIDER A MENTOR ON THE

TEAM AND WHY?

It’s impossible to specify one mentor on this team because a lot of the guys returning have played and been through it. So they’re all willing to help me and explain to me how to play the college game. So I can’t pick just one but I would say the overall leadership on this team is some of the best I’ve ever been a part of.

WHAT PLAYER WOULD YOU SAY YOU RESEMBLE YOUR GAME AFTER?

I wouldn’t say I resemble my game after any one player but the two players I have watched a lot of are JJ Reddick and Steve Nash. I might
see certain things from players that I try to replicate but I try to make my game unique to me and just try to get buckets.

WHAT ARE YOUR INITIAL REACTIONS TO PLAYING ON CHADWICK COURT IN FRONT OF THE CHADWICK CRAZIES?

Chadwick crazies are second to none. I’ve seen a lot of small college basketball games and no student section even comes close. I love the atmosphere and I get excited to play in front of the Chadwick crazies. I hope they keep coming out all year because they have a huge effect on the game. Our home court advantage is probably some of the best in the county.

Four games into the season Watson is beginning to figure out college basketball. He is averaging six points and game while shooting a little over fifty percent from the field. You can catch Tyler Watson and the Little Giants as they open up conference play tomorrow December 1st as they take on Denison University at 2 p.m. at Chadwick Court.